Not again ... Australia avoids more Lord’s drama as David Bedingham survives ‘handling the ball’ act

4
CONTROVERSY! Should this have been out? | 00:26

Australian wicketkeeper Alex Carey has avoided another Lord’s controversy after South African batter David Bedingham evaded what would have been a bizarre dismissal on day two of the World Test Championship final.

During the final over before lunch on Thursday, Australian all-rounder Beau Webster produced a length delivery that found Bedingham’s inside edge, striking him on the thigh and rolling down his upper leg.

Anticipating a potential catch, Carey walked towards Bedingham with gloves at the ready as the ball bobbled near the flap of his right pad.

“Catch it, catch it,” Australian vice-captain Steve Smith was overheard saying on the stump mics.

However, the Proteas batter grabbed the ball, perhaps prematurely, and dropped it on the turf, prompting a muffled appeal from the Australians.

“How’s that?” opener Usman Khawaja enquired from first slip.

“He’s used his hand!”

Watch England vs India Test Series LIVE & EXCLUSIVE on Fox Cricket, available on Kayo Sports | New to Kayo? Get your first month for just $1. Limited time offer >

David Bedingham of South Africa. Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images Source: Getty Images

Wicketkeeper Alex Carey of Australia. Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images Source: Getty Images

Carey, perhaps still scarred from the fallout of Jonny Bairstow’s infamous stumping at the same venue two years ago, had no interest in offering an appeal.

“What’s happening here?” former New Zealand wicketkeeper Ian Smith said in commentary.

“Controversy at Lord’s? No way.

“That will be talked about.”

Former England bowler Stuart Broad, who featured in the 2023 Ashes Test at Lord’s, continued: “I wonder if Alex Carey just said, ‘I’m not getting involved.’

“The ball never stopped, always moving. And Carey was pouncing.”

Umpire Richard Illingworth briefly consulted his counterpart before signalling not out, with Australian captain Pat Cummins offering a sheepish smile.

If the umpires had deemed that it was not a dead ball, Bedingham could have been given out for obstructing the field.

Law 37.3.1 states: “The striker is out obstructing the field if wilful obstruction or distraction by either batter prevents the striker being out caught.”

However, it was not obvious whether the ball had lodged in Bedingham’s pad when he grabbed the ball, which would have determined whether the ball was dead.

Law 20.1.1.4 states: “The ball becomes dead when, whether played or not, it becomes trapped between the bat and person of a batter or between items of their clothing or equipment.”

Bedingham, unbeaten on 31 at the time, added a further eight runs before the lunch break.

Click here to read article

Related Articles