MCC gives verdict on Akash Deep’s controversial delivery that clean bowled Joe Root

1
MCC has finally provided an update on Akash Deep’s delivery that got Joe Root out in the Edgbaston Test. The dismissal stirred controversy after fans and commentators expressed concerns regarding the legitimacy of the delivery. read more

After a lot of noise and confusion over India pacer Akash Deep’s delivery that clean bowled England batter Joe Root in the Edgbaston Test, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has provided a verdict. The drama occurred on Day 4 of the second Test match in Birmingham when Akash got Root out with a sensational delivery that swung in and dislodged the stumps.

After the dismissal, some fans and even commentators started talking about how the delivery may have been illegal. Videos went viral on social media showing that Akash’s back foot landed very wide near the return crease. Former England player Jonathan Trott believed it was a no-ball, and he said it on air while presenting on JioHotstar. Former India coach Ravi Shastri did not agree with him.

STORY CONTINUES BELOW THIS AD

Also Read: RCB pacer Yash Dayal booked for sexual harassment weeks after winning IPL 2025: Report

MCC clears the air on Akash Deep’s delivery

Now, the MCC has come forward to clear the confusion. In a statement to Cricbuzz, the owner of Lord’s Cricket Ground said that what really matters is the very first moment the bowler’s back foot touches the ground. Even if the rest of the foot goes over the line later, it doesn’t matter. Since Akash Deep’s foot first landed inside the legal area, it was not ruled as a no-ball.

“On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law,” an MCC spokesperson was quoted as saying.

“MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball.

“Clearly, at the point Deep’s foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery,” the spokesperson added.

Also Read: McCullum admits England go the toss wrong after heavy defeat at Edgbaston: 'We didn't expect that...'

India went on to win the second Test match by a huge margin of 336 runs to level the series 1-1. The third Test match is scheduled to be played at the iconic Lord’s Ground from 10 July onwards.

Click here to read article

Related Articles